Rig Master Generators

ferretluver

Seasoned Expediter
Hey guys! My husband and I have a rig master generator on our truck which is wonderful but seems to be nothing but problems.... We had it serviced a few weeks ago because the water pump belt fell off and it work wonders for awhile. However, now it shuts down all the time saying the battery voltage is low. We run the truck for a few hours, turn it back on, it shuts down and the cycle continues..:) Does anyone know what might be causing this?? Thanks!

TeamCaffee

Administrator
Staff member
Owner/Operator
Sounds like your Rig Master alternator is not charging.

When you start the truck it recharges the battery on the Rig Master.

FJK1954

Expert Expediter
mine did the same for quite awhile...just replaced the alternator, now it runs like a champ, but still the low voltage alarm goes off but it doesnt shut down, i think its something in the wiring.

guido4475

Not a Member
Just a thought, maybe it would be a good idea to check and clean all battery and alternator connections, as well as all ground wires. I've had the same problem with my powertech generator, and I did that, and did not have any more trouble out of it.

carverstart1

Seasoned Expediter
It could possibly be the alternator or a corroded connection. Check all Battery connections and run a volt meter on the back of the alternator. If you are not getting aprox. 14.2 volts you could have an alternator problem. Have an electrical specialty shop check it out.

raylawrence

Expert Expediter
Sorry for the delayed post on this charging issue. Chances are the alternator is not charging giving you a charging error code. We can supply and install either a new alternator or a rebuilt, your choice. Having said that, we have seen charging issues on rigmasters that have perfectly good alternators. sometime it is a simple connection issue.

We would be happy to assist you.

Ray Lawrence
President
Espar of Michigan
http://www.esparofmichigan.com