New Guy with Class 8 Straight truck Please HELP!!!

JCarr283

Expert Expediter
Ok here's the deal, I Am purchasing a Class 8 Truck probably a Century or Columbia condo. I have been doing research in expediting for several months, and am leaning to sign with PantherII. I drove Tractor-trailer for Atlas OTR and a local inter-city transfer Co. My friend and I will be driving as a team. I am having the truck stretched and adding a 24ft cargo box. (tired of pulling 53ft trailers in tiny truckstops and docks) This seems the most affordable option as I can build this unit for under $25K with a 2001-2002 tractor with 300k-400k miles. All of which I plan to pay for in cash and have no debt to pay, just fuel, maintenance, insurance, ect.
My questions are these:
1. Is this the best (most profitable) way to start out?
2. Are team drivers going to get more loads with longer hauls?
3. Am I better off with tandems or a single axle then pay to add tag axle?
4. What type of pay should I expect with this unit, straight truck pay or tractor pay?
5. What is the typical pay rate for a co-driver since mine is not putting up any investment capital?
6. Isn't the stretched tractor method better so that I may haul heavier loads and lower purchase price than a Class 5 with a sleeper added, not to mention the on-road advantages of a Semi (I.e. more gears, Jake brake, more comfortable ride, power divider ect)?

Any answers to these questions and/or any other input would be GREATLY appreciated!!!!!

raceman

Veteran Expediter
RE: New Guy with Class 8 Straight truck Please HEL

If you run team you will do very well with any of the Big Boys in this business. This is the best approach as Teams do get the long runs. I love that you are doing a stretch and to the best of my knowledge all that you mention or question sounds right on.