streets and trips

Driveguy 207

Expert Expediter
I have been using Microsoft Streets And Trips for about 8 months
with two different companies and have been very happy with it. I type in the addresses and hit the" get directions box" and Im always pretty close to the to the loaded miles that Im given by dispatch. If Im over by to much, I change the route from quickest to shortest on the segments tab and that takes care of it. Anyhow the last trip I had I was over by about 40 miles on a 142 mile trip. I checked the routing on my Qualcom and it routed me on secondary roads through alot of small towns. I came close to not delivering by my protect time. has this happened to anyone else?

redytrk

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
I checked the routing on
>my Qualcom and it routed me on secondary roads through alot
>of small towns. I came close to not delivering by my protect
>time. has this happened to anyone else?

Yes this happens all the time.I learned the hard way,just like you did.QC had me running completly thru streets of Hamilton On.Must have hit 50 traffic lights.Since I have learned to use the old gray matter to modify the route when necessary.

I have used Delorme,MS Streets,and Rand Mcnally.All leave something to be desired.

Black Sheep

Expert Expediter
With M/S S&T you can adjust the preferences on the "preferred routes" setting to eliminate the secondary roads whenever appropriate. Sometimes in reality the shortest route is not best route, as we all know. For the money, I think S&T is the best software available.

raceman

Veteran Expediter
Well, as I have said for months, MIcrosoft S&T is by far the best I have used. I wish I had never bought CoPilot Truck. In my opinion it does not come close to MS&T.

If anyone wants a good deal on CoPilot Truck let me know. I have no reason to keep it as MS&T has always worked for me and still works for me. It simply out performs COPT by far.
Raceman
OTR O/O

theoldprof

Veteran Expediter