cargo van

marty6731

Expert Expediter
I'm looking for someone who is driving a chevy or gmc van to tell me how they like a GM product. I have been driving ford vans for 25 years and I'm looking to drive a different model. Presently I have a 1996 e-250 with the best engine ford ever put out (4.9 inline 6) with over 600,000. I have heard horror stories about the new ford engines. Bad head gaskets, spark plugs blowing out of the engine. I'm looking at a chey van with, I believe, a v-6 4.3. Anyone with any info that could help me out would be greatly appreciated. thanks, marty

klippencott

Expert Expediter
Marty,
I will give you my thoughts on the Ford to Chevy switch. I switched after 25 years of Ford vans to a Chevy van in 2002. The Chevy van started falling apart right at 10k. I mean nuts, bolts ect. started falling off. Around the same time the rear-end gears went out. The Chevy van is the worse investment I've ever made. I didn't have that kind of problems out of Ford though I've heard that the newer Fords are doing the same thing. I bought a new Sprinter in 2004 and other than a couple of recalls for the EGR valve and tire valve stems I have been pretty happy with it.

terryandrene

Veteran Expediter
Safety & Compliance
US Coast Guard
I can't comment on the 6 cyl Chev, but my 5.7, V-8 has just turned 540,000 miles and is still running great. My next van will be a Chev or GMC. Had two ford diesels that ran great but expensively. The transmissions gave me so much grief, I switched to the Chev and have been a happy and profitable owner since.

RichM

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Not only is Terry happy but he could probably give Dale Earnhart Jr some competition. LOL GM did it right with his unit. :p

fastman_1

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator