Books

Freebirdrfd

Rookie Expediter
Researching
What do you think would be a good book to read before buying my first truck, and putting a team in it?

Ragman

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Before this is answered, do you know anything about the expedite industry?

ATeam

Retired Expediter
What do you think would be a good book to read before buying my first truck, and putting a team in it?
It's been a while since Diane and I worked the expediting trade, but I think it's safe to say that if you don't know life on the the road from experiencing it yourself, you are asking for major problems if you become a fleet owner. There is no book to read to develop this knowledge, and no series of articles, and no amount of EO study that would fill in this gap. I would know. I was a driver who used to write for Expedite Now.

Before Diane and I entered the trade, we poured endless hours into EO reading, fleet owner interviews, truck show attendance, and driver conversations. We were as prepared as anyone could be without previous experience. But even with all that, there is far, far more to learn about the life and the driver's experience. And the only way to learn it is to drive yourself.

If you enter this field as a fleet owner without experience, you will be operating blind. The drivers you contract with may easily eat your lunch, and you will be blindsided by risks an experienced fleet owner would instinctively see. .

Reactions: Ragman

ATeam

Retired Expediter
I have 37 years of driving trucks, I have never owned one. The owner part, is what I’m looking to learn
That's a different situation than the one I addressed above. I asked ChatGPT your question and received the following response. If you have not yet discovered ChatGPT, look into it. It is a free resource that is beneficial in all domains of life.
======================